CHI Company Comparison · Italian vs. British
Italian Supercars vs. British Bespoke Luxury
Ferrari, Lamborghini, Rolls-Royce and Bentley sell access in four different currencies. Only one is simply money.
Two customers walk in. Both can pay. Only one leaves with the car. This page is about what decides that — and about the fact that at three of these four companies, the deciding factor is something the customer cannot see, price, or appeal.
Read this part first. This page does not rank these four cars, and it does not rank these four companies overall. It does not argue that limited production, waiting lists, invitation-only programmes or anti-flipping rules are hostile in themselves — when 799 cars exist and more than 799 qualified people want one, somebody is declined however the decision is made. No company is re-scored here. Rolls-Royce and Bentley keep the scores frozen on their own assessments; Ferrari and Lamborghini are not given new ones.
What it examines is narrower, and it is the same question for all four: when two financially qualified customers want the same car, what decides which one gets it — and can a customer find that out before they hand over money?
Each marque above holds its own independently researched CHI assessment, and this page treats those assessments as evidence rather than reopening them. Two carry frozen published scores. Ferrari's does not — its assessment covers allocation and not vehicle quality, and withholds a number rather than manufacture one. Lamborghini publishes a hostility score with its value score reserved. Where a comparison cell has no evidence, it says so instead of guessing.
The four currencies of access
Everyone pays. They do not all pay in the same thing.
Every one of these companies sells cars that some qualified buyers will not get. The interesting variable is not that a queue exists; it is what the queue is denominated in, who sets the rate, and whether the customer can read it in advance.
Ferrari
Currency · transaction historyWhat the company states
Ferrari's Form 20-F says it plainly: "we offer our most loyal and active clients preferential access to our newest, most exclusive and highest value cars." Fact Its client mix is disclosed too — 84% of 2025 sales to existing owners and 56% to multi-Ferrari owners, up from 74% and 40% two years earlier. Company figure, via Reuters
What it does not state
The operative rule. No Ferrari document sets out a weighting, a threshold, or a way for a customer to learn where they stand. The principle is published; the ranking is not.
Lamborghini
Currency · patience, plus price riskWhat the company states
The wait, in months, at every results release: roughly twelve months for the Temerario in January 2026, "approximately one year" across the range in July 2026. Fact No loyalty ranking, repeat-buyer share or relationship criterion for series cars was found anywhere in the corporate record.
What it does not state
What the customer will actually pay when the car arrives, and how a dealer orders its own customers within the factory's queue. Both were left to the dealer, and owners report both moving.
Rolls-Royce
Currency · bespoke complexityWhat the company states
For the rarest tiers, that selection exists and roughly what it looks for: Coachbuild is "invitation-only", for clients with "a deep affinity for Rolls-Royce design". Fact Private Office access is invitation-only and by appointment, and its commissions average 25% higher in value.
What it does not state
Any price, anywhere — and no deposit, specification-lock or price-lock rule was obtainable in any market. For an ordinary car in 2025–26 there is nothing to qualify for; above it, the criteria are adjectives.
Bentley
Currency · moneyWhat the company states
For coachbuilt cars, that clients are "selected" — and nothing else. Fact For everything else there is no ladder at all: no ranking, holding period, right of first refusal, resale sanction or unrelated-purchase requirement was located anywhere in the record.
What it does not state
What staying costs. Renewal pricing for connected services could not be found in any market across two research cycles, and since the 2024 results Bentley no longer publishes unit volumes.
Scarcity decides that somebody is turned away. The currency decides who — and only one of these four companies lets the customer read the exchange rate before paying.
What this is not. It is not an Italian-versus-British story, and the research killed that hypothesis early. Ferrari and Lamborghini run materially different access systems from each other; so do Rolls-Royce and Bentley. The two Italian companies are further apart on this axis than either British pair is on most others.
One car, two qualified buyers
Who actually decides, tier by tier.
The single most common error in writing about these companies is treating a showroom order and a hypercar invitation as the same procedure. They are not, and the difference is the whole subject. Below: who holds the decision at each rung, and what the evidence class is. Both buyers can pay in every cell.
| Tier | Ferrari | Lamborghini | Rolls-Royce | Bentley |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Car already in dealer stock | The dealer. Stock exists because someone cancelled — and at one dealer it came with a written allocation for a Special Series car attached. Owner report | The dealer, and often the price: delivery-mileage cars were listed at well above list as a way to skip the queue. Reported | The dealer. In 2026 there is stock, two model years deep, with manufacturer finance support. Reported | The dealer. Bentley was paying a conquest credit on its best-selling model in 2026. Reported |
| Ordinary series production | The dealer, ordering its own list. Newcomers do get cars — about 20% of 12Cilindri buyers were new clients — but 84% of output goes to existing owners. Fact | The dealer, within a factory order bank of about a year. No corporate ranking was established. Fact | Nobody has to. 5,664 cars in 2025, Spectre volume down about 47%, subvented finance on three lines. Fact | Nobody has to. The only documented screen is the retailer's identity check and a declaration that the buyer is not a reseller. Fact |
| High-demand or launch allocation | Ferrari North America sets a floor, the dealer sets the bar. For the 296 Speciale, owners describe the floor as any recent Ferrari and the dealer bar as a four- or five-car history at that store. Owner report — recurring | The dealer, and dealers differ: a four-car owner "didn't make the first cut" at one store; another charged a $100,000 allocation premium while two others sold at list. Owner report — recurring | Not tested in 2025–26. The one time it was — Spectre at launch in 2023 — the then-chief executive said buyers would "need to qualify". Statement | Not established. The Continental GT Speed launch was not examined at owner level. Not established |
| Special or limited series | Ferrari, increasingly. The 296 Speciale family and the 1,499-unit 12Cilindri Manuale were fully allocated before general order books existed. Fact | The dealer; method unpublished. Lamborghini has said it intends to build more series-based limited editions — the forward risk to its own boundary. Fact | The Private Office. Private Collections — 25 Phantoms for the centenary — are offered through an invitation-only channel entered by dealer nomination. Reported | Bentley, through retailers, on criteria it does not publish. Speed Edition 12 ran to 120 cars per model. Criteria unpublished |
| The rarest tier | Ferrari head office, before the reveal. The 799-unit F80 was "already fully allocated to our collectors" when it was shown. Fact | Lamborghini, before the reveal, from "a select group of customers". Criteria unpublished. Fact | Goodwood's design leadership. Nightingale, 100 cars for delivery from 2028, began with clients who "asked us for our most ambitious work". Fact | Bentley and Mulliner, before the reveal. A Bacalar auction catalogue records that every example was allocated before the car was unveiled. Fact |
| Is the principle published? | Yes — in the 20-F. | No. | Partly — "invitation-only", plus adjectives. | No — one word, "selected". |
| Is the rule published? | No. | No. | No. | No. |
| Can a customer see their own position? | No. The app shows "waitlisted" and no more. | No. The published months are the factory's order bank, not the dealer's list. | No. | No. |
Read the last three rows together. All four companies run the rarest tier the same way — the manufacturer selects, before the public knows the car exists, on criteria nobody publishes. That is the segment's shared architecture and it is not a distinguishing finding about anyone. What differs is how far down the range selection reaches: at Ferrari it reaches into ordinary and special-series production; at Lamborghini and Bentley it stops one rung above the showroom; at Rolls-Royce in 2026 the showroom rung has no gate at all.
Only 799 people were ever getting an F80. The question this page asks is what happens on the other rungs — and that is where the four companies stop resembling each other.
What the customer pays beyond the sticker
The bill nobody itemises.
If the currency is not money, it has to be something. This is the part of the comparison where the four companies diverge most sharply — and where the strongest single finding of the investigation sits.
Ferrari — the toll is depreciation, not markup
The expected finding was dealer markup over list. It is not there. In the owner material examined, no dealer markup on a new Ferrari was reported in any thread; the line owners quote from dealers is that they cannot sell a new Ferrari below list.
What owners describe instead is being asked to absorb depreciation on cars bought to improve standing: "Porsche dealers shamelessly ask for ADMs. Ferrari Dealers ask you to buy cars and take massive depreciation hits." Owner report — recurring
One October 2025 transaction is documented firsthand by the buyer: a first-time Ferrari customer took a new 296 GTB from dealer stock at full list, with $45,000 of dealer money applied to the price, and received a written allocation for a 296 Speciale in return. Other members called it a relatively common way to move cancelled stock. Owner report — firsthand
What that is and is not. It is one documented transaction at one dealer, corroborated as a practice by other owners. It is not a Ferrari policy, not shown to be network-wide, and not evidence that Ferrari requires anyone to buy anything. Ferrari's commercial leadership has publicly rejected exactly that idea, calling a mandatory-purchase policy a "huge mistake".
Lamborghini — the price is not locked
Lamborghini publishes the wait. What it does not fix is the price between deposit and delivery. In an August 2025 thread, several US Revuelto customers described orders placed up to two and a half years earlier arriving with materially higher window stickers — one reporting an increase of more than $80,000 — against deposits of about $30,000 they had signed for as non-refundable. Owner report — recurring within one thread
This is owner-reported and not contractually verified: no order form, no dealer letter, and the figures are the customers' own. It sits beside a company record that runs the other way — Lamborghini raised US prices by 7–10% against a tariff that reached 27.5% and absorbed the rest, its margin falling from about 27% to 24%. Reported
The two halves belong together: Lamborghini absorbed most of a cost shock it did not create, and handled the remainder customer by customer at the dealer rather than by a published rule. Its chief executive's own words in August 2025: some customers are "fine with it, or we will have negotiations."
Rolls-Royce — nothing at the showroom, a relationship above it
For an ordinary Rolls-Royce in 2025–26 there is no toll, because there is no queue: the company built 5,664 cars in 2025, Spectre volume fell about 47%, and by September 2026 the US market showed subvented finance across three lines with two model years in stock. Fact
The price of the tier above is a relationship that produces complex commissions. Private Office work averages 25% more value than standard bespoke, and Private Collections are routed through it. Nobody has been shown to be refused — but nobody outside can see the nomination rule either. Analytical inference
The 2023 statement that flippers would go "immediately on a blacklist" remains what it was: said once, for one model, by a chief executive who left four months later, with no clause, no enforcement instance and no refused customer located in three years.
Bentley — money, and then an unpriced future
Nothing was found on the access side at all: no holding period, no right of first refusal, no blacklist, no retaliation, no unrelated-purchase requirement. A one-owner Bacalar was serviced by a Bentley retailer in August 2025 and sold at auction four months later with no documented response. Fact
Bentley's cost sits after delivery, and it is an information cost rather than a gate: the renewal price for its three-year connected-services licence could not be found in any market across two research cycles, and the customer is told to ask a retailer. Not located
It is the only one of the four to publish a fixed aftersales price at all — UK service plans for cars aged three and over, inflation-protected — which is both a genuine credit and a measure of how little any of them publishes.
Attribution, stated once and applied everywhere. Three of the four exhibits above are dealer conduct, not manufacturer policy. Every one of these companies sells through independently owned dealers and is not party to the customer's contract; the harshest post-purchase instrument found anywhere in this research — an 18-month right of first refusal with profit disgorgement and legal costs — was written by a Ferrari dealer in Texas, and is expressly not attributed to Ferrari N.V. Its outcome remains unknown nearly two years after it was reported.
The rest of the argument, in brief
Four more places the four companies part company.
Each card is the short version. Switch to FULL for the purchase-process table, the authorship ladder, the ownership terms and the residual data — about nine minutes more.
Buying: deposits, price certainty, waits
Bentley produced the clearest documented committed-order protection of the four: pre-tariff pricing held on every order placed through the end of June 2025, stated on the record by two executives. Ferrari protected two model families outright and keyed the rest to import date, so a signed order for a third model imported after 2 April 2025 was exposed to up to 10%. Lamborghini's owner record describes committed orders arriving dearer. Rolls-Royce said nothing publicly either way, and publishes no deposit, spec-lock or price-lock term in any market.
All four sell through independent dealers, and in every case the customer's contract is the dealer's, not the manufacturer's.
Customisation versus authorship
All four sell deep menus. Only two demonstrably build something because one customer asked: Rolls-Royce at Coachbuild — new bodies, new processes, and a written non-replication undertaking that has held at one, three and four cars — and Bentley at coachbuilt, where clients shaped the Batur before production. Ferrari offers the least authorship and the most brand control, and its chief executive has said Ferrari may pre-define colour combinations because some are "not liked or loved by the second potential buyer".
No company was found protecting a customer's unique specification in writing, at any tier.
Ownership: the written offer
Rolls-Royce has the strongest early-ownership package in the cohort — four years, unlimited mileage, warranty and maintenance and named wear items, transferable — but that is verified in its United States booklets, which state they are valid only in the USA; the UK page states the warranty and is silent on maintenance. Ferrari's seven-year scheduled-maintenance programme runs longest and is the one comparator that beats it on duration. Lamborghini announced five years on three current models with markets and terms unpublished. Bentley gives three years, unlimited mileage.
What the car is worth afterwards
The strongest residual protection in the set belongs to the owner of an allocated, fixed-number Ferrari — and to nobody else at Ferrari. Ordinary Ferraris depreciate like their peers: an SF90 Stradale at roughly a third off list at four to five years, a Roma about a quarter off. The cars that function as the price of admission are the cars that lose the money. Ferrari now discloses hybrid residual risk in its own filings.
The steepest single first-owner loss found was a Rolls-Royce Spectre; the largest coachbuilt loss was a Bentley Bacalar at roughly 55% in four years.
The purchase process
Deposit, price certainty, allocation and wait.
None of the four publishes a standard customer order form, deposit rule, specification-lock rule or price-lock rule. Every cell below is therefore reconstructed from company statements, dealer documents, regulatory filings and owner accounts, and labelled accordingly. United States and United Kingdom practice is documented; European, Middle Eastern and Chinese process detail is not established for any of the four.
| Stage | Ferrari | Lamborghini | Rolls-Royce | Bentley |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who holds the customer contract | An independent dealer. The 20-F states: "We do not own our Ferrari dealers." Fact | An independent dealer, allocated to by the factory through a central order-management system. Fact | An independent dealer. No corporate order document was located. Not established | An independent retailer; the UK order terms make the sale expressly contingent on Bentley accepting the order. Fact |
| Deposit | Owners report a fixed $30,000 on a 12Cilindri, described since mid-2024 as held by Ferrari North America, with a second deposit taking the total to about 10%. Ferrari's own interim report confirms it takes advance payments "mainly for our Icona, limited edition and Special Series models". Fact Owner report | Dealer-held and dealer-set; owners report about $30,000 in the US, €30,000 in Germany, £40,000 in the UK. US paperwork is described as acknowledging non-refundability. Owner report | Not established. No dealer order form was obtained in any market — the most consequential documentary gap of the four. Not established | Retailer-negotiated; returned if Bentley cannot accept the order or the buyer fails identity checks. Fact |
| Does the deposit secure the car? | No. Owners quote the paperwork as stating a deposit is not a guarantee of an allocation; two owners at two dealers waited three to four and a half months for refunds after cancellations in 2025. Owner report | No. One documented case: a $30,000 deposit taken against an allocation the dealer never had, refunded in full when the order was cancelled. Owner report | Not established. | Not without Bentley's acceptance; the contingency is written into the retailer's terms. Fact |
| Is the price fixed at order? | Not contractually in US practice. On the 2025 tariff, commercial terms were held for every car imported before 2 April 2025 and for the 296, SF90 and Roma families; the rest were "partially reflected on pricing, up to a maximum 10 per cent increase, in coordination with our dealer network." Protection was keyed to import date, not signature. Fact | Owner-reported as not fixed: committed orders arriving materially dearer, options rising by more than the tariff. Company-side, US prices rose 7–10% while margin fell from about 27% to 24%. Owner report Reported | No public statement either way in 2025. What is documented runs the other way: Spectre Series II listed below Series I, and a reported model-year 2027 Cullinan list price below 2026. Reported | Yes, for a stated window: pre-tariff pricing on every order placed through end-June 2025 — "even if you configure a Bentley, it will be at the pre-tariff price". Explicitly temporary; both the CFO and CEO said costs would eventually pass through. Fact |
| Stated wait | Order book "entirely covers 2027" (July 2026); the chief executive has named a target waiting list of 20 to 24 months. Volume in 2025 was "deliberately designed to be substantially flat". Fact | Published in months and shortening: 18 months (March 2025) → about twelve for the Temerario (January 2026) → "approximately one year" across the range (July 2026). Fact | None published. The then-chief executive called waits over two years "bad production planning, nothing else" in May 2023. Coachbuild runs two to four years. Fact | None published. Core-range incentives in 2026 indicate stock availability rather than a queue. Reported |
| Remedy for delay | None published. Owners describe build timing as opaque rather than promised-then-missed. | None published. | None published. | None published; UK retailer terms disclaim liability for delay outside the seller's control, and give the customer 21 days to cancel with a full deposit refund if the list price rises. Fact |
The one thing all four share. The manufacturer is outside the customer's contract at every one of these companies. That is why a dealer's repricing clause, a dealer's deposit rule and a dealer's right of first refusal keep being reported as manufacturer policy — and why this page separates them everywhere.
↩ Return to the briefCustomisation versus authorship
A menu is not the same as a commission.
Counting available options measures nothing: a company can offer billions of combinations and retain complete authority over the product. The test used here is different — does the customer choose from a menu the company wrote, or does the company make something because this customer asked, and who then owns the result?
What no one protects
No document was located at any of the four that contractually reserves a customer's colour, specification or design to that customer for a stated period. Rolls-Royce reserves a palette to a collection rather than to an owner. Bentley's "Ombre" treatment went from a single client's car to a catalogue offer in three palettes within months, and whether the original combination is reserved is unresolved. Unresolved
Uniqueness at this end of the market is protected by practice and reputation, not by contract — and practice is exactly what a customer cannot check before commissioning.
The company that limits authorship on purpose
The only executive on record about constraining what customers may specify runs the company with the least authorship to constrain. Ferrari's chief executive said in February 2025 that Ferrari was "thinking internally maybe to pre-define the [colour] combinations", because "there are some combinations that are not liked or loved by the second potential buyer". Fact
Read charitably that is residual-value protection for the next owner. Read plainly it is the manufacturer deciding what the first owner may have. Both readings are available; the statement is the same.
The ownership experience
Warranty, maintenance, repair and the digital clock.
Access decides who gets the car. This decides what owning it is like — and it is the section where the ranking from the access sections does not survive.
| Term | Ferrari | Lamborghini | Rolls-Royce | Bentley |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard warranty | 3 years, unlimited mileage. The UK term was stated as 4 years in a 2017 release and is presented by a current UK dealer as 3 plus a bundled extension — unconfirmed. Unresolved | 3 years, unlimited mileage from delivery; conditions "may vary by country". Transferability and exclusions not stated. Fact | 4 years, unlimited mileage — and expressly regional: the US booklet is "valid only in the U.S.A.", the UK page limits cover to the region of first registration. Fact | 3 years, unlimited mileage, beginning at first delivery. Fact |
| Included scheduled maintenance | 7 years, unlimited mileage, transferable — the longest in the cohort. Every term of it comes from dealer reproductions of Ferrari text; no Ferrari document was read, and model coverage and exclusions are not established. Via dealer | 5 years, on the Temerario, Revuelto and Urus SE only. Markets, inclusions, start date and transferability unpublished; the announcing release carries footnote markers it never renders. Company claim | 4 years including wear items — brake pads, rotors, wiper inserts — transferable to each subsequent purchaser, with no dealer-servicing condition. Verified in the US booklets only; the UK page is silent on maintenance. Fact (US) | None currently published. A 2020 UK service-plan document bundled a plan into the list price of some models; the UK now publishes fixed, inflation-protected plan prices for cars aged 3+. Fact |
| High-voltage battery | Cover to year 8, then a paid hybrid programme to year 16 with two scheduled battery replacements written in — unique in the cohort, and conditional on continuous enrolment. Reported | 8 years, no published mileage cap and no state-of-health floor. Fact | Spectre: 15 years, unlimited mileage, applied retroactively to cars already sold (February 2026), with 80% and 70% state-of-health floors in the booklet that the announcement omitted. Fact | Only a Malaysian figure located: 8 years / 160,000 km at 80% state of health. US terms not sourced. Not established |
| Connected services — included term | To the end of the contractual warranty. The system is monitoring-only: no remote command function appears on the published feature list, so a server shutdown removes nothing a driver needs. The contract itself is not public. Not located | 3 years from the start of warranty. Alone of the four, the full contract is published per model at a stable pre-purchase URL, with no arbitration clause and no class waiver. Fact | 4 years — the longest — fixed by the 2022 subscriber agreement and expressly transferring to the next owner. The current North American terms state no duration, carry binding arbitration and a class waiver with a 30-day opt-out, cap liability at $100, and reserve termination on "changes in laws, wireless carrier, or technology". Fact | 3 years, with emergency call for 10. Bentley warns in plain words that operators retire networks and "you may not get the Services", with no remediation promise. Fact |
| What lapses if you do not renew | Monitoring, location and trip data only. | Remote lock, tracking, remote-parking information and over-the-air updates — on the plain text, everything: "At the end of the Term, the Services will no longer work." Whether emergency call survives is unresolved. | Emergency call, stolen-vehicle recovery, remote unlock and vehicle finder. | Remote services, online navigation and traffic, hotspot data. Emergency call continues to year 10. |
| Renewal price | Not published. | Not published. | Not published; the plan auto-renews annually. | Not published, in any market, after a dedicated search across two research cycles. Renewal runs through a retailer, so the number cannot be obtained before signing. |
| Independent repair | Extension cover is conditioned on authorised-dealer repair; roughly 200 points of sale worldwide. Public repair-information access not established. Not established | Diagnostics and repair information licensable by independents back to model year 2009. Fact | Parts and dealer-grade information reach independents through the parent group's fee-metered infrastructure; the warranty tolerates non-genuine parts. Fact | Public repair-information store, plus a heritage catalogue of about 67,000 part numbers covering Crewe-built cars from 1955. Fact |
Every one of these cars is built to outlast its own connected-services contract by decades. None of the four publishes what year four costs.
The digital asymmetry is the cohort's, not one company's. Physical support runs to fifty years and more — heritage parts, restoration, certification. Digital support is three to four years, renewable at a price nobody publishes, with no stated server or map-support horizon anywhere. Where the four differ is only in disclosure: Lamborghini publishes the whole contract, Rolls-Royce transfers the term to the next owner in writing and is alone in imposing arbitration on the digital layer, Bentley warns about network retirement in plain language, and Ferrari's contract could not be located at all — which makes its position unknown rather than benign.
↩ Return to the briefResidual value
Who receives protection, and who absorbs the loss.
Percentages here are inferences against stated list or as-configured prices at dated observations; asking prices are not sales, and are labelled. The industry's standard depreciation studies exclude all four marques as low-volume, so brand-level claims are not available and none is made.
| Category | Ferrari | Lamborghini | Rolls-Royce | Bentley |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ordinary series production | SF90 Stradale about 29–33% below list at 4–5 years (UK); Roma about 24% below at 3–4 years; 296 GTB roughly 20–25% below as-configured. Purosangue is the exception, still asking at or above list. | Huracán Evo about 5–15% below base at six years; Tecnica and STO at or above base; Urus S about 10–15% below as-configured at 2–3 years; Revuelto roughly at new. | Spectre about 30–37% below as-delivered at 1–2 years — the steepest first-owner loss in the set. Ghost about 30–40% at five years; Cullinan 35–45% at six to seven. | Continental GT about 25–35% at 2–5 years — comparable to a Ghost or a Roma. Bentayga and Mulsanne fall harder over longer holds. |
| Final and high-demand editions | 812 Competizione at auction from about 2.3× list. | Aventador SVJ and Ultimae about 30–35% above base; Huracán STO at or above base. | Black Badge starts higher and tracks the same curve. Inference | Not established for the W12 Speed Edition 12. |
| Limited series and coachbuilt | LaFerrari 3.5–6×; SF90 XX about 2× when it sells (three of five offerings did not sell); Daytona SP3 about 2.3×. Every dated 2025–26 sale of an allocated limited-series Ferrari is a multiple of list. | The opposite: Sián about 35–40% below launch price; Countach LPI 800-4 from $2.5m in 2024 to €1.58m in 2026. Lamborghini's actual Few-Off cars have lost money. | No Coachbuild resale, listing or auction was located at all. There is no secondary-market print to read, in either direction. | A Bacalar sold for $876,875 at auction against a reported list of roughly £1.5m — about 55% down in four years. Two Baturs were offered above list with no completed sale documented. |
The protection is real, and it is conferred
Ferrari's allocation architecture does protect an asset — for the customers Ferrari selects. Every dated sale of an allocated, fixed-number Ferrari in this window is a multiple of list, and Ferrari ties its own brand value to "the profitable resale market for our automobiles" in its filings. Fact
But the cars that function as the economic price of admission are the cars that lose the money. An SF90 Stradale, a Roma or a 296 GTB bought partly to hold standing depreciates like any rival's car, and Ferrari now discloses hybrid residual risk as a risk factor in its own 20-F. The protection accrues to roughly 800 customers a cycle; the depreciation is spread across the other thirteen thousand.
The coachbuild premium is what the market refuses twice
The Bacalar result is the clearest single data point on the bespoke-resale question, and it needs its exact reading. The car lost roughly 55% in four years while a contemporaneous Continental GTC — the series car underneath it — lost about 30% in five. What the second buyer would not pay for was the coachbuild premium, not the bespoke content. Analytical inference
Whether personalisation content itself is punished at resale is not established for either British marque: no Rolls-Royce Coachbuild car has ever been resold publicly, and the one Batur offered above list never sold. The only executive on record saying loud specifications hurt the second buyer runs Ferrari.
The advantage and the downside
Four buyers, four different right answers.
There is no winner here, and the evidence does not support declaring one. What it supports is matching a buyer to an architecture — because each of these companies is genuinely better than the other three for somebody, and worse for somebody else.
Ferrari
Strongest advantage
The longest aftercare ladder in the cohort — seven years of scheduled maintenance, extensions running to year 15 or 16, two scheduled battery replacements written into the hybrid programme — and, for the customers it selects, the only residual protection in the set that reliably holds.
Strongest disadvantage
Standing the customer cannot see, priced in depreciation on cars bought to hold it. Everything past year three is a paid annual contract at prices Ferrari does not publish and dealers have been reported quoting above.
Best fit
A collector who buys new, keeps and drives, lives near a dealer, and reads the 20-F before the brochure.
Worst fit
A first-time buyer who wants a special-series car on merit, and anyone who needs to sell the entry car quickly.
Lamborghini
Strongest advantage
The most legible access system of the four: a published queue in months, no corporate loyalty ranking found, and the only fully published connected-services contract in the cohort — no arbitration clause, no class waiver, and a plain statement of what stops working and when.
Strongest disadvantage
The price between deposit and delivery, and the deposit itself. The published wait is the factory's order bank; the customer's place in a dealer's own list is neither published nor stable.
Best fit
A first owner of a current-range car who orders when the wait is short and keeps it inside the maintenance window.
Worst fit
A buyer committing early through a cost shock, and a second owner of an older supercar far from a dealer.
Rolls-Royce
Strongest advantage
The strongest written early-ownership package checked in this cohort: four years, unlimited mileage, warranty and scheduled maintenance and named wear items, transferable to each subsequent purchaser, with no dealer-servicing condition — in its United States documentation. Plus a fifteen-year Spectre battery warranty applied backwards to cars already sold.
Strongest disadvantage
Total price opacity. No price for a car, an option, a service plan, an extension or a connectivity renewal in any market — and no obtainable deposit, specification-lock or price-lock term for a build that can run one to two years.
Best fit
An owner inside the four-year window who drives the car and keeps it in its region of first registration.
Worst fit
A Spectre first owner needing liquidity early, and anyone budgeting on published post-warranty costs, because there are none.
Bentley
Strongest advantage
A conventional relationship: no ladder, no sanction, no restriction on what an owner does with a car they paid for — and the clearest documented committed-order price protection of the four when the 2025 tariff arrived. Repair information is public and heritage parts run to 1955.
Strongest disadvantage
What staying costs is unpublished. A three-year connected licence whose renewal price cannot be obtained before signing, a disclaimer that network retirement may end the service, and, since 2025, no published unit volumes against which to check the strategy.
Best fit
A high-mileage owner keeping the car three to seven years inside the warranty and service-plan structure.
Worst fit
A buyer of a cheap first-generation W12 without a specialist budget, and a technology-led buyer who expects to know what year four costs.
The most restrictive access system protects its owner's asset best. The most open one leaves the owner carrying the loss. Neither of those is the same thing as treating a customer well.
What the evidence overturned
The claims that did not survive — including our own.
This investigation opened on a hypothesis and killed it. What follows is the list of things that turned out to be wrong, unsupported, or wrongly attributed, including two corrections to the CHI record itself.
Every claim quoted below is one this research rejected. None of them may be read as a finding.
- "Italian scarcity versus British bespoke." The organising hypothesis of the brief. It did not survive contact with the evidence: Ferrari and Lamborghini run materially different access systems, and so do Rolls-Royce and Bentley. There is no national split to draw.
- "Ferrari chooses you." Not a Ferrari statement. It is a collector's aphorism from a 2014 magazine interview, repeated until it acquired the status of policy. Ferrari's published position is a preference for loyal and active clients — which is a different, and much narrower, claim.
- A three-year recency requirement, stated by Ferrari. The most-quoted "criteria" for a Ferrari supercar allocation — a purchase within three years, a minimum number of cars owned — is a paraphrase in a teaching case, sourced to press reporting rather than to any Ferrari document, describing a process from more than a decade ago. Only the phrase "We track everything" is attributed to a Ferrari executive.
- A Ferrari one-year no-sale rule. No manufacturer-level resale clause was located for any current model. The documented written instrument — an 18-month right of first refusal with profit disgorgement and legal costs — belongs to an independent Texas dealer, and its outcome is still unknown.
- "Rolls-Royce blacklists flippers." Said once, in July 2023, for one model, by a chief executive who left four months later. Three years on: no written policy, no clause, no enforcement instance, no refused customer — and the model it applied to has since fallen about 47% in volume and carries manufacturer finance support.
- "A Batur was flipped for a million-euro profit." Two cars were offered above list. No completed sale is documented. The corrected version now appears on Bentley's own assessment.
- Bentley's coachbuilt clients as a loyalty ladder. Contradicted by the then-chief executive, who described the buyer base as largely customers who had never bought a Bentley before. Selection is real; prior ownership was not shown to be its currency.
- Four Spectre brake recalls. A miscount inside our own research chain, caught at verification: there are three integrated-brake campaigns across 29 months, plus a separate January 2024 ground-cable campaign. The published Rolls-Royce assessment was right and stands unchanged.
- Ferrari's 84% / 56% client mix as a sighted disclosure. The 2025 figures are a company statement reported by Reuters; the primary sentence was never sighted. The 2023 and 2024 equivalents are in those years' Annual Reports. All four CHI pages carrying the figure now say so.
And one thing that survived in the other direction. The brief expected Ferrari to hold less control before purchase and offer more protection after it. The first half inverts: Ferrari has the most documented manufacturer-level control before purchase of any of the four. The second half holds only for the customers it selects.
Evidence limits and open questions
What this comparison cannot see.
A comparison built on uneven evidence produces an uneven picture, and saying so is part of the finding rather than a disclaimer attached to it.
The forum asymmetry
Ferrari and Lamborghini owner forums were fully readable. No Rolls-Royce owner forum and no current Bentley owner discussion could be reached at all.
So the firsthand material in this comparison is Italian by accident of access, not by weight of evidence. Where Rolls-Royce and Bentley show no owner complaints about deposits, allocations or renewals, that is an absence in the record, not a finding about the companies. Read every "not located" on those two marques with that in front of it.
Documents never read
Ferrari's warranty booklet, maintenance terms and connected-services contract — none was obtained, so the cohort's longest aftercare programme is described entirely from dealer reproductions. No Rolls-Royce dealer order form exists in the record in any market. Bentley's connected terms are accepted in-app and were never seen. Non-US warranty booklets were not obtained for Rolls-Royce.
Matters still open in court
Four are on the record and unread: the Texas dealer's suit against a customer over an 18-month resale clause, whose outcome is unknown nearly two years on; Lamborghini's action against one of its own dealers, trial-ready for December 2026; and two 2026 federal filings against Rolls-Royce's North American arm. None supports a finding today.
The five answers that would change this page
- 01One connected-services renewal quotation, from any of the four. It would settle in a sentence whether the year-three cliff is a transparency problem or an extraction problem. Two research cycles have failed to find one.
- 02A Ferrari deposit agreement. Whether the manufacturer or the dealer holds a customer's $30,000, and what the non-guarantee clause actually says, decides who is accountable for the refund delays owners describe.
- 03A Lamborghini order form, or a dealer letter from August 2025. It would move the committed-order repricing finding from owner report to contractual fact, in either direction.
- 04Any dealer communication linking a Luce order to a future allocation after June 2026. Owners widely expect the link; not one has reported being told of it. Ferrari has denied it three times on the record.
- 05A Rolls-Royce warranty booklet from outside the United States. If maintenance and wear items are a US-only inclusion, the cohort's strongest written ownership package becomes a regional finding rather than a brand one.
Sources and methodology
How this was built, and what the labels mean.
The research
Thirteen parallel research streams — four on access and allocation, four on ownership, and five cross-brand streams covering digital terms and contracts, resale and depreciation, waiting times and executive statements, dealer-layer practice, and a dedicated owner-forum field pass.
Three adversarial passes followed: one attacking every company-favourable claim, one attacking every adverse claim, and one auditing entities, dates, numbers and attributions with fifteen primary re-fetches. A separate verification pass then checked the written result against the evidence base and found thirty defects, three of them material. All three were fixed before publication; one of them is item eight in the overturned list above.
The labels
- Fact — a primary document, regulatory filing, court record or on-record executive statement. It vouches that the statement was made, not that the practice described is true.
- Reported — credible secondary press or academic reporting.
- Owner report — firsthand owner accounts, marked isolated or recurring. These establish experience signals; they cannot establish company policy, and are not used to.
- Company claim — the company's own marketing or self-description.
- Analytical inference — our reasoning from labelled evidence.
- Not established / unresolved — tested, and the evidence did not carry it. Never a synonym for "did not happen".
The rules applied
Entity separation. Manufacturer, national subsidiary, dealer, dealer group, broker, finance company and owners' club are treated as separate actors throughout. Dealer conduct is never attributed to a manufacturer without evidence of direction.
Rolls-Royce means Rolls-Royce Motor Cars Limited, the Goodwood carmaker owned by BMW Group. Nothing from the separate aero-engine and power-systems company appears anywhere on this page.
No new scores. This was a comparative investigation, not a scoring pass. Rolls-Royce and Bentley keep their frozen scores; Ferrari and Lamborghini are not assigned new ones. Where the evidence moves a dimension, it is recorded on that company's own page for the next scoring pass.
The four underlying assessments are the primary reference for every figure on this page: Ferrari, Lamborghini, Rolls-Royce Motor Cars and Bentley Motors. Each carries its own source ledger, its own evidence limits, and the corrections this research required. Company assessments are part of the CHI Institutional research layer.